SweetMarzipan’s Weblog
Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Great Mighty Poo

Of all the songs to have stuck in my head (ALL morning)…. I cannot, for the life of me, stop singing the The Great Mighty Poo song. If you’ve never played Conker’s Bad Fur Day you probably have no idea what I’m talking about and think I’m totally nuts. If you HAVE played CBFD…. you’re probably laughing right now. Or at least chuckling…. And hopefully now you’ve got the song in your head too. It’s an extremely catchy lil’ ditty if I do say so myself…

The first verse goes a little something like this:

I am the great mighty poo
and I’m going to throw my shit at you.
A huge supply of thish
comes from my chocolate star fish.
How about some scat you little twat?

Conker’s is one of the best video games of all time. He’s a squirrel, a red squirrel, and the premise of the game is that he got wasted one night and got lost and is now trying to make his way home (or something along those lines), and a long, perilous journey it is. (Needless to say; this is not a G-Rated game.) The Great Mighty Poo is one of the first baddies he has to fight, and as his name indicates, the Great Mighty Poo is a giant blob of poo… And… he sings… opera. Oh yeah and he throws balls of poo at you throughout his delightful little aria. I highly recommend watching the video. It’s pretty great. I just wish the darn song wasn’t stuck in my head. Too much of a good thing, ya know?

The Great Mighty Poo

The Great Mighty Poo

I think the level in general, and this particular area/character are so thoroughly enjoyable to me mostly because as much as I’ve tried (yeah for some reason I actually tried… your guess is as good as mine as to why…), I can’t think of all the brown stuff that makes up the ceilings and walls and floors and general architecture/topography, and characters and the gooey brown stuff that drips from overhead (and injures you if you let it hit you) as poo. It’s always looked like chocolate, or fudge to me. The darn level actually makes me hungry! Think of it as fudge next time you play and you’ll see. It looks positively delicious! And the little squishy sounds Conker’s feet make when he walks on the stuff are infinitely more enjoyable when you imagine it as sticky gooey fudge!!

Anyhow, feces-inspired serenades aside; I finally made my very first foray into the glory that is Tres Leches Cake last night. (Nice transition there, eh?)

I’ve been dying for an excuse to make Tres Leches Cake for ages now, but the occasion just hasn’t come about until now. In case you’re unfamiliar with this little bit of confectionery Heaven, Tres Leches (Spanish for “Three Milks”) Cake is a lovely vanilla (sometimes sponge) cake that is saturated in a mixture of Sweetened Condensed, Evaporated and Whole Milk or Cream after baking, and then covered with something lovely and fluffy and white, i.e. meringue or whipped cream. (More in-depth explanation here.)

When I asked Jellybean what kind of dessert she wanted for her birthday, she said “surprise me.” Damnit. Not that I’m not creative and/or industrious enough to come up with my own ideas for original desserts, but… I wanted it to be spectacular, I wanted it to be over the top, I wanted it to be perfect for my Jellybean. Especially since this is the first time I’ll be properly feeding her… (I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to make her a meal!) So it was a lot of pressure… I actually did come up with a few good ideas, but I remembered her saying her mum was going to make her signature Tres Leches Cake which JB adores, but then it turned out her mum hadn’t made it after all (long story.) Ta daaaaaaaaaaa! My problem was solved! I no longer had the pressure of coming up with an awe-inspiring original dessert, and I finally had a golden opportunity to test out the dessert of all desserts that I had been dying to try! (Not to mention Jellybean seemed thoroughly pleased with the idea of getting her Birthday Tres Leches Cake after all.)

Now the only pressure I’ve got on me is to not muck up her mother’s recipe too much. That I can handle. As I said in my previous post; Beans has already graciously excused me for not being quite up to mom’s standards. I just hope all the extra TenderLovingCare (my favourite special ingredient) I’ve put into it will at least make it SORT of near mum’s standards…

So I made the cake last night which turned out moist and lovely and golden; I chose to go with a [round] spring form tin instead of a rectangular baking tin as the recipe called for… I have a thing for round cakes, I dunno…

The milk mixture was divine and quite frankly I could have just left it as-was and sipped it outta the mixing bowl straight… screw pouring it over the cake! Sweetened condensed milk is like liquid Heaven, man. If you’ve not had the pleasure of tasting it, I highly recommend it. (Not sipping it, though. Unless you’re a humming bird or something…)

So I managed to get almost all of the milk mixture into the cake with minimal leakage (springform pans leak; it’s not a design flaw, it’s just…. how they roll.) (No pun intended.) and the cake has been sitting in the fridge overnight for maximum absorption. The recipe calls for a whipped cream coating on the outside, instead of the popular meringue, which is lucky cuz I think I hate meringue (and so does JB.)

I had intentions of decorating the cake with edible flowers but the store was out, confound it. The rich, bright colours and exotic shapes of the flowers would have been perfect against the the crisp, clean, pure backdrop of the fluffy white cream… Perfect enough for me to run out to a few other stores after work today in the hopes of finding them before I have to be over at JB’s house at 7ish. If I can’t find ’em… well, I picked up a box of Rowentree Fruit Pastilles which are rather pretty as well, and I think I’ve still got several sprigs of fresh mint leaves lying around the kitchen somewhere. We shall see.

I’ve actually taken pictures of the preparation process throughout, and will post them shortly in case anyone is curious….

I also prepared the Macaroni and Cheese last night. It’s Martha Stewart’s recipe and oh my God is it good so far. I made the noodles and the cheese sauce and put them into the baking dish and it’s waiting for me in the fridge to bring it over to JB’s house to pop into the oven when I get there. Seriously I was so ready to just bring her the cheese sauce and pretend I had changed the menu to Cheese Soup instead and eat it straight. It’s that awesome. The recipe calls for mild white Cheddar and either Gruyere or Pecorino Romano. I opted for the Gruyere. *drool* Can’t wait to try it out tonight after it’s legitimately assembled and baked. I think JB and everyone else will be pleased.

: )

No Responses to “The Great Mighty Poo”

Leave a Reply

